Three Vols Land on Preseason Coaches All-SEC Teams

Three Vols Land on Preseason Coaches All-SEC Teams

Photo via Tennessee Athletics

A trio of Vols have landed on the Preseason Coaches All-SEC Team rosters, Tennessee announced on Tuesday afternoon.

Redshirt-senior wide receiver Bru McCoy received second team honors while offensive guard Javontez Spraggins and center Cooper Mays landed on the third team roster.

McCoy gets the nod after a solid first season on Rocky Top in 2022. The USC transfer totaled 667 yards on 52 catches along with four touchdowns serving as the second-leading receiver on the team behind 2022 Biletnikoff winner Jalin Hyatt.

In 2023, McCoy figures to be the top receiver in yet another loaded wide receiver corps for the Vols. The California native has slimmed down a bit this offseason and looks poised for a big season. The coaches and media agree, as McCoy was also named to the preseason All-SEC Second Team roster by the media in July.

More From RTI: How Tennessee is Using Former Vols to Set the Right Mindset and Culture

Considering Gerald Mincey hasn’t been taking reps as a starting offensive lineman in fall camp, Spraggins and Mays look to be the only returning offensive lineman that will start this season.

Both have been dependable options up front over the last two seasons and have 49 combined starts, with Mays at center and Spraggins at right guard. Additionally, both were preseason All-SEC third team selections by the media.

Mays enters his senior season after starting all 13 games in 2022 and not allowing a sack in the last five. Spraggins had a breakout season last fall, starting all 13 games and serving as a key part of an offensive line that protected the country’s No. 1 offense.

Spraggins, Mays and McCoy will look to get their senior seasons started off on the right foot when Tennessee takes on Virginia Saturday, September 2, at Nissan Stadium in Nashville at Noon ET for the season opener.

See below the full list of all preseason honors for Tennessee football:

Senior DE Tyler Baron:

All-SEC Fourth Team (Athlon)

Senior LB Aaron Beasley:

Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List
All-SEC Second Team (Lindy’s)
All-SEC Third Team (Athlon)

Senior OL Cooper Mays:

Rimington Trophy Watch List
All-SEC Second Team (Lindy’s)
All-SEC Third Team (Coaches, Media)
All-SEC Fourth Team (Athlon, Phil Steele)

Senior WR Bru McCoy:

All-SEC Second Team (Athlon, Coaches, Media, Phil Steele)

Senior QB Joe Milton III:

Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List
Davey O’Brien Award Watch List
Maxwell Award Watch List
All-SEC Third Team (Media, Phil Steele)

Redshirt Senior LB Keenan Pili:

Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Watch List

Senior RB Jabari Small:

Doak Walker Award Preseason Candidate List

Senior OL Javontez Spraggins:

All-SEC Second Team (Lindy’s)
All-SEC Third Team (Coaches, Media)

Senior DL Omari Thomas:

All-SEC First Team (Lindy’s)

Redshirt Senior TE Jacob Warren:

Mackey Award Watch List
Wuerffel Trophy Watch List
Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Nominee

Senior WR Squirrel White:

All-SEC Fourth Team (Athlon)

Senior KR/PR Dee Williams:

All-American Fourth Team (Phil Steele)
All-SEC Third Team (Athlon, Phil Steele)

Junior RB Jaylen Wright:

Doak Walker Award Preseason Candidate List
All-SEC Third Team (Lindy’s)
All-SEC Fourth Team (Athlon)

Author: Ethan Moore